remove ad

the industrious revolution: Dec. 02, 2003 (6:26 pm)

i have been remembering driving down to prince william forest listening to this new kind of like spitting album as loud as i could to faze out my father making surgery plans for his father down in florida. those were a sad couple of months for my family. waiting for the elevator at the friendship heights metro, an old man came up to me. i couldn't quite understand what he said so i asked, "what?" he repeated himself and i sort of heard so i said "yes". he placed his metro card in my hand and said, "i'm done with my business and i'm going to florida so i won't be needing this. the air outside is too cold. i thought i'd leave thursday but i've finished my business and i'm leaving tomorrow." as we got off the elevator i wanted to tell him to be careful, a lot of men like him die in florida, but instead i looked down at my new twenty five cent fare card.

< - > - all - p - n - d