remove ad

code words: Sept. 15, 2003 (9:19 pm)

when i can't work, i walk. i used to walk with an old man running. sunday morning, a pregnant woman took steps in her sandals holding her belly. we looked at each other and smiled. college kids walk to the safeway and the cvs. today, a girl in her headphones walked across the street from me in my headphones. she had a bright red bandana and tie-dyed shirt and looked at me in a way which made me not want to look at her. i walked faster, feeling better, not looking back. i sit next to you and remember when you called me annabelle and think that sounds wrong coming from anybody but you but now we are just silent or talk about math and i hear you laugh and i'm afraid i am exactly like that other girl with her headphones. if you try hard not to be special you may discover that you one day are.

< - > - all - p - n - d