remove ad

dull sublunary lovers' love: Sept. 07, 2005 (5:35 pm)

he called me at eight last night while i was driving to have coffee with alex and i called him back at ten thirty before driving home from alex while he was on his way to get dinner so we didn't speak until eleven thirty after he had walked to the only open chinese restaurant in our part of cambridge. i turned on music to drone out the sound of my voice in my house but it annoyed him so i spoke from a silent room and his brother came home and asked if there were calls for him, yelled about the mess and played guitar except i didn't hear any of that except through ben's reactions. i get teary on the phone because it's terrible to go from living in a cooperative house three blocks away from your boyfriend in a northern suburb of a tiny city to your parent's home in the outskirts of a city that sprawls out for an hour in ever direction, but i smile when i lay down and think about a coming hug in logan international airport which i would do even if i wasn't distracting myself from crying from trying to bridge four hundred miles on a cell phone whose reception breaks when i try to lay down on my bed when i talk with this boy who i mostly love because he was there to throw pebbles on my window when i was bored alone in my room.

< - > - all - p - n - d